Skip to content

Dilled Root Vegetable Slaw with Apples

March 31, 2010

By Katie from Making Food and Other Stuff

The major players (celeriac is that thing that looks like a hunk of a tree)

IMG_7488.jpg

The minor players

IMG_7489.JPG

Side note: A few weeks ago I bought a fennel bulb after seeing it on Averie’s blog. I don’t like to waste food, so I saved the wispy green top thingies (that is a technical culinary term, I’ll have you know) and froze them. So glad I did, because they were a nice addition to this. Any guesses as to what I made???

IMG_7500.JPG

Dilled Root Vegetable Slaw with Apples

  • 2 cups shredded cabbage
  • 1/4 – 1/3 red onion, sliced thinly and sliced cut in half
  • 1 small golden beet, julienned
  • 1 med tree trunk celeriac, julienned
  • 1 small apple, cubed (I used a pink lady, but use whatever floats your boat)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T lime juice
  • 2 T red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 t dried dill (or 1 T fresh)
  • 1 T fresh fennel green thingies (see above for definition)
  • salt, freshly ground black pepper, and stevia, to taste

Mix the vegetables and apple in a large mixing bowl. Combine the rest of the ingredients for the marinade and shake or stir to mix. Pour over the veggies mixture and toss well to completely coat the veggies. Chill the mixture in the fridge for at least 4 hours, stirring a few times to make sure the veggies get equal lovin’ from the marinade.

IMG_7490.JPG

I’m not normally a slaw fan or a tooter of my own horn fan, but this stuff is the BOMB! Raw veggies marinaded in a sweet and tangy sauce with dill and fennel? Yes, please! So summery and fresh tasting, it really made me excited for warm weather and skirts and flip flops! I also can’t wait for my garden, because this would be far better with fresh dill (which I fell in love with during last summer’s garden bonanza).

I ate this all day long today. Straight from the bowl in the fridge. (I love alone, don’t judge.)

IMG_7496.JPG

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 3:21 pm

    I love dill, and I’ll bet it was great in combination with your veggies! Very creative! 🙂

Leave a Reply

