Skip to content

Pretzels with Maple Apricot Mustard

March 26, 2010

By Katie from Making Food and Other Stuff

IMG_7411.JPG

Pretzels with Maple Apricot Mustard

  • 50-75 grams dried Turkish apricots, about 6-9 whole dried apricots (depending on how apricot-y you want it; I used 50 grams, but I’d use more next time.)
  • 2 T yellow mustard seeds
  • 2 T brown mustard seeds
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1-2 T maple syrup (again, depending on how sweet you like things; I used 1 T)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • Gluten free pretzel twists

Put all ingredients except pretzels into a glass or plastic container (NOT metal) and soak for several hours or overnight. Blend until creamy. I soaked them in my magic bullet container and then used that to blend it. It worked liked a champ.

This mustard is not for the faint of heart. This is a serious mustard, for serious mustard lovers. I nearly choked on my first pretzel dip, and I’m no sissy. I based the recipe off of what I read here. Apparently it will mellow with time. We’ll see about that. It should keep for a couple months in the fridge, but the way I go through mustard, there’s no way it’ll be around that long.

IMG_7410.JPG

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 27, 2010 12:21 am

    This is going to take my vote! Love the simplicity, and I ADORE mustard and pretzels together. I’ve tried raspberry jam + mustard, and this sounds even better!

Leave a Reply

