Skip to content

Apricot and Rosemary filled Pretzels

March 26, 2010

By Health-Foodie

Mae from Ohhmay had the genius idea to start an online competition inspired by the TV show “Chopped”. Each week she announces two or three ingredients that must be used in a recipe. Everybody can enter the competition even if they do not have their own blog. The votes of the readers decide who will be the winner at the end of each week. Here is the official website. Isn’t it genius? ☺

The idea

I love challenges and I did not want to pass this one up, even though this meant making something that I would not usually make. Even though the Pretzel is savory, overall this recipe is definitely sweet. I am not a big fan of sweets and therefore am not experienced in making sweet dishes. I decided to make whole wheat pretzel bites and fill them with an apricot and rosemary spread. I also added some lightly salted crushed raw almonds for a crunch.

Flavor Tips

Apricot is one of the rare fruits that actually tastes better cooked. If there is one classic flavor that is often paired with apricots it would be vanilla. But apricots pair well with a variety of other foods/flavors. These include almonds, pistachios, apples, cherries, orange juice/zest, lemon, cardamom, ginger, cinnamon, pepper etc.

Don’t ask me!

To be honest, this is a little embarrassing, but it was really hard for me to figure out how good this is or if it is even good at all! Maybe I am just biased against sweets. Mark of course could not tell me either… it was hard enough to get him to just eat one, let alone talk about it! You are certainly welcome to try it and let me know what you think! I can assure you that neither Mark nor I spat it out.☺

The apricot spread

The apricot and rosemary spread is very creamy. It can be used as a jam on breads or in yogurts etc. I think the apricot and rosemary flavors go really well together. The creaminess with the typical dried apricot flavor is unexpected, but pleasantly so. I would have loved to use fresh apricots since they are divine when cooked, but there were none available. Feel free to try this recipe with fresh apricots once they are available. Using dried apricots also makes the spread slightly sour.

For the pretzel bites you can use any pretzel recipe. I made whole wheat pretzel dough and formed tiny balls. I crushed some raw almonds and mixed them with some vanilla seeds and salt.

Apricot and Rosemary Spread

Makes ~ ½ cup

Ingredients
  • ½ cup Apricots, dried
  • ½ cup Orange juice, fresh
  • 1 tsp (packed)
  • ~ ½ cup Water
  • pinch Salt
Instructions
  1. 1.Preheat the oven to about 400°F.
  2. 2. In a shallow dish combine the apricots, orange, and rosemary. Place in oven for about 20 minutes or until most of the juice has evaporated.
  3. 3. Puree the apricots, rosemary, water, and salt until smooth. Add more water until it reaches the desired consistency.
  4. 4. Taste and maybe add other ingredients. Orange zest? A little bit of oil to carry the flavor?
Health Facts

Apricots are full of different carotenoids, such as beta-carotene, beta-cryptoxanthin and lycopene. All of which are antioxidants with various health benefits. Also, apricots are a great food for weight loss. One apricot only contains 17 calories. But make sure you eat them fresh. Dried fruit can be an easy way to eat too much sugar and too many calories. A lot of dried fruit also contains preservatives, added sugar and generally has a lower nutrient content.

This was definitely a fun challenge, but the recipe probably needs tweaking. This is just for fun and not something I would usually make, I therefore did not categorize it with the rest of the recipes. If you want to submit your own recipe, you can still do so for this week’s challenge. Have fun!

– Christina

starstarstarstarstar

Mark says:

This was a very pleasant surprise. I was definitely scared to try this, but it turns out I really like apricots (I’m sure I tried them before at some point, but I don’t remember when). I thought it went very well with the pretzels and almonds. On the other hand, it’s a bit too sweet for me, and I would rather eat the pretzels plain 🙂

Nutrition Facts (entire spread)

Calories: 160, Fat: 0g, GL: 29, Fiber: 3.5g, Protein: 5g, Carbohydrates: 50g

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 11:05 pm

    Oh this definitely gets my vote! So simple yet also healthy and interesting. It’s like an adorable little sandwich 🙂

  2. June 15, 2010 5:43 pm

    Wow, this sounds so fun! I just found some great recipes using apricots too…so happy they are in season now 🙂
    http://imallergic.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/5-amazing-recipes-for-fresh-apricots-from-rodale-com/

Leave a Reply

